Astrological Terms under Letter H

|   |   |   |   |   |   |   |   |   |   |   |


- The second symbolic planet used in Uranian astrology.


-Yoga - It arises when all the planets are located in a group of triangular houses other than the ascendant. It will lead to all planets occupying the following three formations: (i) 2nd, 6th, and 10th houses; (ii) 3rd, 7th, and 11th houses; and (iii) 4th, 8th,
and 12th houses. Persons born under this combination are engaged in agricultural activities in an important way.

Halley's Comet

- Named for the English astronomer, Edmund Halley. One of the most brilliant comets viewed from Earth, it reappears approximately every seventy-seven years.


- an alternate term for mid-point, the point in the zodiac that lies exactly midway between two planets.


-Yoga - One of the five Maha Purusha Yogas formed by Jupiter in exaltation or in its own sign and in strength occupying a cardinal house either from ascendant or from the Moon sign. It makes the person fortunate, well built. He gets a beautiful wife and possesses all comfort. He is religiously inclined and favourably disposed towards spiritual studies. The combination is said to bestow a life of more than 82 years.

Hard Aspect

- Aspects which create tension and friction. Squares, oppositions and quincunxes are all hard aspects.

Harihara Brahma Yoga

- Refers to 3 sets of planetary combinations: (i) Benefics placed in the 2nd, 8th, and 12th houses from the sign in which the lord of the 2nd house is placed; (ii) Jupiter, Moon, and Mercury posited in the 4th, 9th, and 8th houses from the sign where the lord of the 7th house is situated; and (iii) the Sun, Venus and Mars in the 4th, 10th, or 11 house from the ascendant lord. These combinations make the individual truthful, effective speaker, victorious, well-versed in religious scriptures, and philanthropic.


- The term for the Aspects describing the relationship between two points, bodies or Signs.

Harmonious aspect

- Aspects in which the planets involved are mutually supportive; their energies operate together comfortably and productively. The sextile and trine are major harmonious aspects; also called easy aspects.

Harmonic Chart

- Chart based on any chosen division of the zodiac. For example, the fourth harmonic features planets in square aspect. In the harmonic chart, these planets are shown in conjunction.


- A very powerful form of accidental dignity, based on sect, planetary joy, being above the horizon etc. Hardly used in modern astrology.

Heavy planets

- A term used to refer to the slower-moving whose influece is considered more serious than the other planets. They are: Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto.


- One of the three fates referred to by the ancient Greeks, also known as immutable fate.

Heliacal rising

- "Rising with the Sun" - occurs when a planet or star, which was hidden by the Sun's rays, again becomes visible.


- Measurements based upon the Sun as the central point of reference or observation; Sun-centered.

Heliocentric System

- The system in which cosmographic coordinates are given on the assumption that the Sun is at its center. It is a realistic approach.


- One of the Greek gods, has references to the planet Mercury.


- The original name for the planet Uranus, which was discovered in 1781 by the British astronomer Sir William Herschel.

Higher Octave planets

- The three outermost planets, which symbolize the higher or spiritual level of expression in contrast to the lower or physical level symbolized by the inner planets with which they are linked. Uranus, the higher octave of Mercury, objective intellectualism. Neptune, linked to Venus, expresses spiritual love; Pluto, the higher octave of Mars, is associated with spiritual evolvement; Mars with physical development.


- That which seeks to take the whole body, soul and mind into consideration in any prognosis or interpretation.


- The rising of a radical sign; an hour; it represents a part of the zodiacal sign divided into two parts, each of which is owned by Sun or Moon. Sun's Hora is considered masculine and Moon's Hora is feminine.

Hora Lagna

- A sort of ascendant worked out by multiplying the birth time after sunrise by two and dividing the product by five, and adding the result to the sunrise on the day.

Hora Shastra

- A treatise on predictive astrology, but generally it refers to the science of astronomy and astrology both.


- Any condition that hinders or impedes the functioning of a significator.

Historic Aspect

- An aspect that occurs in the chart of an event, as opposed to a living being.

Horary astrology

- The branch of astrology devoted to answering specific question by means of a horoscope drawn up for the time a question is asked.

Horizon, Celestial

- Extension of earthly horizon to space. Astronomically, horizon refers to the small circle of the celestial sphere whose plane is tangent to the earth at the position of a given observer or the plane of such a circle which is also known as the Sensible Horizon.


- It literally means a map of the heavens at the time of one's birth.

Horoscope of Solar Ingress

- Planetary positions along with the ascendant and other horoscopes details for the moment when the Sun during its annual sojourn returns to its exact zodiacal position as at birth. This chart is used as an aid for annual forecasting.


- Ancient Hellenistic term for Ascendant


-The visible juncture of Earth and the sky, represented in a horoscope by the Ascendant-Descendant axis.

Hours, Planetary

- The hours of the day are ruled by planets in their order from Saturn inward to the Moon.


- One of the twelve mathematically derived sections (houses) of a horoscope, each of which represents a particular area of life. The size of a house and the zodiacal degree that appears on its cusp depend upon the house system used.

House cusp

- The zodiacal degree at which a house begins.

Human signs

- Signs that exhibit human qualities : Gemini, Virgo, the first 15° of Sagittarius and Aquarius.

Humanistic astrology

- Person-centered astrology as opposed to event-oriented.


- Traditional functions of the body, first expounded in ancient Greece by Galen: sanguine (blood), phlegmatic (phlegm), melancholic (black bile) and choleric (yellow bile). When these four humours are in balance, the body is in a state of health, when they are in imbalance there is disease. They are related to the Elements in Astrology: fire (choleric); water (phlegmatic), air (sanguine) and earth (melancholic).

Hurling rays

- Refers to aspects cast backward in the order of the signs. May imply that the planet casting the ray is somehow hindering the receiving planet.


- Interchangeable with Apheta.

Related Links

• Vedic Astrology glossary starting with letter H