Home > Indian Astrology


Vedic Astrology

Indian Astrology is an ancient science based upon the knowledge gained by ancient Indian sages and saints on planetary influences.

It had evolved long before the Western astronomers and astrologers were born. It has its roots steeped into the Vedas which date back to 1500 BC.

Jyotish - Jyothisha or Light

No other science can be more interesting, instructive and useful to mankind in contributing to the moral and material advancement that Indian astrology. Indian Astrology is based upon the foretelling the future of indivudals, nations or other events relying on the planetary movements. In Sanskrit, it is known as Jyotisha or Light.

Indian Astrology interprets what it conceives to the future of the man as moulded by his previous Karma or birth and indicates by the planetary positions at the time of his birth.

Branches in Indian Astrology

Astrology in india has three branches namely: Siddhanta, Samhita and Hora. Siddantas are those who devote to astronomical study of celestial bodies.  Samhitas deal with mundane astrology, earth quakes, floods, volcanic eruptions, rainfall, weather conditions economic conditions,etc. Hora deals with predicting the suitable timing of various events in our day-to day life.


Apart from these schools of Astrology in india, we have what we can call as Nadi Astrology (or) Nadi Shastra  which gives pictures of life and destiny patterns of people born at 12,24,48 seconds intervals. These have been written on palm leaves by our ancient sages. Only very few experts can  read and understand these, but the results and predictions are found to be amazingly accurate.


Indian Astrology  study consists of 27 Nakshatras. The movements of the two luminaries Sun and Moon, the  five major planets  of Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Venus and Mercury and the two nodal points of the Moon i.e., Rahu and Ketu are considered. The outer planets like Pluto, Neptune and Uranus that have been discovered lately are not recognised by the Indian Astrology.

Moon and Rasi / Rashi

Moon is given much importance in Indian astrology as it is the nearest to the Earth and it exercises much influences on us. The waxing and the waning of the Moon causes the tides of the seas and plants and animals as also man is also affected to greater extent. The Moon’s position in one’s birth chart is called the Rasi or Moon sign and this along with the Nakshatra or the star constellation of the individual is used for predictions.

Indian astrology techniques are vastly used in India and the world over for predicting the birth, nature of Marriage, career, finances, diseases, death of people. It is also used in Mundane analysis for predicting the future of countries, natural catastrophes.

Indian astrology uses a different zodiac than Western astrology and is a branch of Vedic science. In India, there is widespread belief in astrology and it is commonly used.


  Rahu Kalam Calculator Rahu Kalam Calculator

  Yamakandam Kalam Calculator Yamakandam Calculator

  Find  Favourite  Direction (Shoolam) Find Favourite Direction (Shoolam)

  Sunrise / Sunset Calculator Sunrise / Sunset Calculator

  Kundali / Jathakam Calculator Get Kundali / Jathakam for your Birth Date

  Get Nakshatra for your Birth Date Get Nakshatra for your Birth Date

  Auspicious Days Auspicious Times Finder

  Baby Names as per Rashi / Nakshatra Baby Names as per Rashi / Nakshatra

It generated interest with research oriented astrologers in the West from the early 1990s. Unlike astrology in the west, Vedic astrology deals with more natural matters and is not used to find lucky numbers for a lottery or to win a casino game. Siddhanta, Samhita and Hora are the basis of Vedic astrology and together they predict natural events such as earthquakes, rainfall, economic conditions and the suitable timing of various events in our day-to day life.

More recently, Indian scientists have denounced a proposal to use state money to fund research into Vedic astrology as it is a part of India's heritage and a science that we are continuously learning from.