House Inter-Relationships

The combinations listed below are among the common or general yogas of Vedic Astrology.

All or Most Planets above the horizon(Houses 7-1)

This creates an outgoing, worldly or political nature because the planets are in the visible half of the chart.

The individual will be social or work oriented, communicative but possibly superficial. They will easily reveal themselves and make their lives a public affair. It will be difficult for them to keep secrets or to be uninfluenced by their social environments.They may be evolved spiritually but will express their spirituality through work or communication. They will be drawn into public activity, even though their basic nature (as revealed by the signs) may be more private.

All or Most Planets above the horizon(Houses 7-1)

This creates an introverted or inward nature because the planets are in the invisible half of the chart. The individual will be indrawn, unexpressive or not revealing of their true feelings or motivations. They will hide things, keep things close to themselves and can be hard to understand. More evolved types will be drawn towards meditation.They can be successful in the outer world but they will work behind the scenes or through other people.

All or Most Planets in the eastern half of the Chart

he individual will be more self-motivated, individualistic and self-expressive because planets are in the eastern or personal side of the chart. They may be selfish, egoistic or simply individualistic. They may talk much about themselves and be impulsive in their behavior. Relationships may prove difficult for them.

All or Most Planets in the western half of the Chart

The predomination of planets in the relationship side of the chart will make the person relationship oriented. They may define themselves by the people with whom they are in partnership. Self-identity and self-worth may be difficult to establish. They will find it difficult to stand alone. However, they can be aggressive in relationship.

Opposite Houses

Duality is the essence of life. These prime dualities of life are outlined in the relationship between the houses, between each house and its opposite. Planets in opposite houses reflect these prime issues. The Rahu-Ketu axis, which is always in opposite houses, does this as well.

Houses 1 and 7

These are the houses of self and other. Planets here show issues in relationship and self-identity. When the planets involved are of harmonious nature they show harmony of self and partner. When the planets are of conflicting nature they show conflict between the self and other, between personal drives and relationship needs.

Houses 2 and 8

These are the houses of personal and collective resources. They show material and financial issues. Badly disposed, they show the loss of personal resources to groups, organizations or to society at large. Well disposed, they show both personal and collective gains.These are also houses of personal and collective expression. They can show conflict of expression with the partner. They can also show the ability to communicate on both personal and collective levels. Afflicted, they can give health problems because the eighth is the house of death and the second a death-dealing (maraka) house.

Houses 3 and 9

These are houses of dharma, vocation and motivation. The third shows our basic energy, drive and curiosity, what we like to do of our own accord when not seeking any collective goal. The ninth shows the principles that we stand for in the world. It shows what we think is our duty, what we feel a responsibility or calling to do for the benefit of the world. The third is what we like to do and represents following our own personal motivations.Issues between these houses center on the conflict between the personal and social usage of our energies, personal interests and enthusiasms versus collective and spiritual responsibilities. Harmony between these two houses shows a harmony of desire and duty, of personal will and spiritual purpose.

Houses 4 and 10

These are houses of the private life versus the public life, of personal identity versus social roles. Here the issues of individual needs versus social responsibility come out. Some of these are similar issues to the third and ninth houses, but for those houses it is a question of values and the usage of energy; for these houses it is a question of home life and work life. Conflicts between the domestic and the work sphere are shown here. Also shown is the relationship between our heart's desire (fourth house) and its public realization (tenth house). It shows the relationship between desire (fourth house) and karma (tenth house).

Houses 5 and 11

These are both houses of gain, expansion and creativity, the former in the personal sphere, the latter in the collective sphere. Issues here are those of creativity and self-expression.

The fifth house shows our intelligence and creativity. The eleventh shows how we communicate and share it on a group or collective level. A conflict between these two houses shows a conflict between personal and public aspirations for the person.

Houses 6 and 12

These are houses of negation and sorrow. The sixth house shows factors that negate our personal well-being, the twelfth house those which negate our social well-being. Issues between these houses relate to disease, enmity, sorrow and loss. On a higher level, these are the issues of service and surrender. This is a very sensitive axis and malefic influences on this axis can cause much harm, though malefics in the sixth house itself can be beneficial.