Traditional Hindu Computative Method

10.Vedha/Incompatible Nakshatras

Each Nakshatra has one that it particularly afflicts and with which it is therefore generally incompatible. It is best for those of these conflicting Nakshatras not to marry each other. These are:

1. Ashwini and 18. Jyeshta

2. Bharani and 17. Anuradha

3. Krittika and 16. Vishakha

4. Rohini and 15. Swati

5. Mrigashira and 23. Dhanishta

6. Ardra and 22. Shravana

7. Punarvasu and 21. Uttarashadha

8. Pushya and 20. Purvashadha

9. Ashlesha and 19. Mula

10. Magha and 27. Revati

11. Purva Phalguni and 26. Uttara Bhadra

12. Uttara Phalguni and 25. Purva Bhadra

13. Hasta and 24. Shatabhishak.

14. Chitra, no incompatible Nakshatras

11. Varna / Class

The lunar signs are divided into four groups based upon class or varna. Brahmin is the spiritual class or those of knowledge, Kshatriya the nobility or people of honor, Vaishya the merchants or commercial people, and Shudra, the servant or labor class. They tend to represent our temperament and values, but are only very vague indications of these that should not be taken too seriously. These are:


water signs

Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces


fire signs

Aries, Leo, Sagittarius


air signs

Gemini, Libra, Aquarius


earth signs

Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn

The unit of agreement here is only 1 point. This we might add, however, is an extremely important factor to consider, namely spiritual compatibility. However, the method of calculating it here is very approximate and rarely accurate. It is better to use other more complex and accurate methods of judging spiritual types.

12.Nadi Kuta

This is an attempt to compute the physical type according to the three Ayurvedic doshas. By this system, individuals of the same doshic type should not marry, as they will increase the factors of disease in each other. Each of the Nakshatras is assigned one of them.


Ashvini, Ardra, Punarvasu, Uttara Phalguni, Hasta, Jyeshta, Mula, Shatabhishak, Purva Bhadra


Bharani, Mrigashiras, Pushya, Purva Phalguni, Chitra, Anuradha, Purvashadha, Dhanishta, Uttara Bhadra


Krittika, Rohini, Ashlesha, Magha, Swati, Vishakha, Uttarashadha, Shravana, Revati

If Nadi Kuta is not present, it can be counted on the quarters of the Nakshatras. If it is present there, that can also be helpful. This factor is given 8 units. However, we should note that it is only approximate. The Nakshatra in itself is not always enough to determine constitutional type. Hence, if we have another way of determining it, we should resort to that instead.