The Ruling Planet of the zodiac sign of Cancer is the Moon. This is the only sign in the zodiac that sees its ruler visiting once every month. The tides of the seas and many of our life's cycles including the female reproductive cycle are based on the rhythms of the Moon.

The Moon reflects the light energy it garners from the Sun. The Moon rules emotions and feelings.

Astrologically, Moon denotes mental and emotional power in human beings. While Sun is the King, the Moon is considered the Queen of the Solar System. According to Vedic System of Astrology, Moon is a natural benefic and is capable of giving great mental power and prosperity.

Moon is considered tender by nature and represents love and beauty. Though Moon is smallest among the planets it has enormous effect on the human beings on the earth on a physical and astrological sense. It governs the psychological nature of an individual. Moon plays and important role in Vedic astrology. Water is element of Moon. Moon represents mother as she is the nurturer of the life on this planet.

Positive Moon indicates joy, enthusiasm and peace of mind in life while negative or afflicted moon causes tensions, depression, suicidal tendency and pessimistic attitude. Moon has been allotted number 2 in numerology.

Characteristics of Moon:

Day: Monday
Direction: North-West
Colour: White
Orbit time in One Zodiac Sign: 27 days
Orbit time of whole Zodiac: 324 days
Nature: Tender and peaceful
Friendly planets: Mars, Jupiter and Moon
Enemy planets: Saturn , Moon nodes
Neutral planets: Mercury
Own Sign: Cancer
Exalted in: Taurus
Debilitated in: Scorpio
Metal: Silver
Precious Stone: Pearl
If well placed signifies: Prosperity & wealth
If adversely placed signifies: Arrogance and jealous nature
Represents: Mother
Body parts ruled: Heart, eye, fluids of body, lungs
Diseases caused by Moon: Weak eyesight, Tension, depression, heart problems, respiratory problems, Tuberculosis, cold and cough

sun    Sun
Moon    Moon
Mercury    Mercury
Venus    Venus
Mars    Mars
jupiter    Jupiter
saturn    Saturn
uranus    Uranus
neptune    Neptune
pluto    Pluto
chiron    Chiron