Animal Symbols of Nakshatras

The nakshatras are divided into female and male animal energies. The male nakshatra is the more dynamic nakshatra; the female nakshatra is a very passive one. The animal connected to the nakshatra will give the indication of the personality, behavioral pattern, and relationship with the other nakshatras. This is mostly used under sexual analysis.

What is a Nakshatra?

Hindu (Vedic Indian) astrology is based on a system of prediction that is based on the position of the moon in a given Nakshatra (constellation). There are twenty-seven nakshtras in all. Each one of them covers thirteen degrees and twenty minutes of the zodiac. Sometimes the number is 28, if we include Abhijit Nakshatra which is an integral part of Utarashada.

The Nakshatra system is unique to the Vedic system and gives it much higher level of accuracy. Each planet, house, sensitive point in zodiac is influenced by the Nakshatra it occupies at a particular time. The placement of the Moon in each Nakshatra is an important concept in Indian Astrology. When you were born, the Nakshatra in which the Moon was situated at that time is called your Janma Nakshatra (birth nakshatra).

Myths on Nakshtras

Nakshatra ruled by Mercury and Ketu namely -Ashlesha, Moola, Revati, Jyestha and Ashwini are called Gand Mool nakshatras. If the natal Moon in the horoscope of a child is in one of these Nakshatras, the child is said to be born in Gand Mool Nakshatras. According to astrologers, child born in these nakshatras is inauspicious and faces various obstacles and problems in life. Therefore on the 27th day after birth some remedial poojas should be performed. Some are also of the view that newly born child is inauspicious to the near relatives like maternal uncle, father, mother, etc. Some of the people who were born in the Gand Mool nakshatras and rose to great heights in their lives are Jawahar Lal Nehru, Mahatma Gandhi, Devanand, etc.

The Nakshatra animal signs are:

Animal Symbol
Purva Phalguni
Uttara Phalguni
Uttara Bhadra
Purva Ashadha
Purva Bhadra
Uttara Ashadha

Nakshatras and Ayurveda

The following actions can be done in the field of medicine or Ayurveda during the particular nakshatra period.

Ashwini- taking medicine, making medicine, beginning actions to improve health.

Bharani- hatha yoga, driving out evil influences, purification like fasting or silence.

Rohini- taking medicine, massage, longevity and rejuvenation practices.

Mrigashira- treatment of disease, rasayana therapies.

Aridra- psychological cleansing, exorcism, harsh actions like surgery.

Punarvasu- taking medicines and all healing therapies.

Pushya- taking medicines, healing therapies, herbal baths, picking herbs.

Aslesha- inoculations, surgery .

Purva Palguni- illnesses that occur here may be difficult to overcome.

Uttara Phalguni- healing and disease treatment.

Hasta- treatment of disease.

Chitra- taking and making medicine, collecting herbs.

Swati- disease treatment, planting, gathering, making medicine.

Vishaka- taking medicine, starting healing therapies.

Anuradha- treatment of disease.

Jyeshta- harsh actions like surgery.

Moola- harsh actions like surgery, gardening of herbal plants.

Purva Shadha- preparing medicines .

Uttara Shadha- treatment of disease .

Shravana- taking herbs, medicine and doctors prescriptions.

Dhanishta- learning medicine, treatment of disease.

Shatabisha- curative measures started now will be more effective.

Uttara Bhadra- healing and treatment of disease, planting and gardening of herbs.

Revati- healing and treatment of disease .

Nakshatras and their Presiding Deities

The twenty seven nakshatras and the respective Presiding Deity are given below:

1) Ashwini – Aswins

2)Bharani – Yama

3)Krittika – Agni

4) Rohini – Prajapati

5) Mrigashirsha – Soma

6) Aardraa – Rudra

7) Punarvasu – Aditi

8) Pushya – Brihaspathi

9) Ashlesha – Sarpa

10) Maagha – Pitris

11) Poorva Phalkuni – Aryama

12) Utra Phalkuni – Bhaga

13) Hasta – Savitar

14) Chitraa – Tvashtar

15) Swaati – Vayu

16) Vishaakha – Indra and Agni

17) Anuraadha – Mitra

18) Jyestha – Indra

19) Mula – Pitris or Nirriti

20) Poorvaashadaa – Apa (Water)

21) Uttaraashaada – Viswedevas

22) Shraavanaa – Vishnu

23) Dhanishtha – Vasus

24) Shatabhisak – Varuna

25) Poorva Bhaadrapada – Ajaikapad

26) Uttara Bhaadrapada – Ahirbhudhuya

27) Revathi – Pooshan

Nakshatras and Gemstones

Ashwini- buying new jewelry and wearing.

Rohini- wearing expensive jewelry for the first time.

Punarvasu- remedial measures, making or obtaining new jewelry.

Pushya- remedial measures, putting on new gems.

Uttara Phalguni- putting on new jewelry.

Hasta- putting on gems.

Chitra- spiritual rituals, making and putting on gemstones.

Swati- putting on new gems.

Vishaka- making jewelry.

Dhanishta- religious performances, putting on gems.

Uttara Bhadra- putting on gems.

Revati- buying a new piece of jewelry, putting on gems

Generally the birth nakshatra is an auspicious time for an individual as well.

Related Links

•  Find your Nakshatra

• Nakshatra in Indian Astrology