Home > Astrology > Mercury Retrograde > 2009 Mercury Retrograde





2009 Mercury Retrograde

A planet is described to be in retrograde when it appears to be moving backwards through the zodiac.

Actually this is an illusory planetary motion created by the orbital rotation of the earth with relation to other planets in the solar system. Planets are never actually retrograde or stationary, they just seem that way due to this cosmic shadow-play.

The planet Mercury rules thinking and perception and all types of communication. When Mercury goes retrograde it gives rise to personal misunderstandings. There would be delays, flaws and hitches in all communication related areas like transportation,trade,etc. Astrologers advise not to make any important decisions while Mercury is retrograde, since it is likely that such decisions will be marred by misinformation, poor communication and careless thinking.

The following calendar for year 2009 denotes the period when Mercury is in retrograde motion when shaded in yellow. The days in grey background are the Shadow periods and the days marked in Red font are said to be erratic when Mercury move very slowly.


Legend :

- Retrograde

- Mercury slowly

- Shadow period.

 
... Mercury Retrograde! is an astrological app designed to help people determine if Mercury is Retrograde or Direct and when it is going to happen.It graphically shows where Mercury and Earth are in relation to each other and correct Zodiac houses. A color coded calendar counts down the days until future Retrograde/Direct events.

Download Mercury Retrograde for Android apps now


2009 Retrograde Begins
Date & Time
Position at Start
2009 Retrograde Ends
Date & Time
Position at End
January 11, 2009
11:43 am EST
8:43 am PST
07:45 Aquarius
Jan 31-Feb 1,2009
2:10 am EST(Feb 1)
11:10 pm PST(Jan 31)
21:50 Aquarius
May 6-7,2009
1:00 am EDT (May 7)
10:00 pm PDT (May 6)
01:44 Gemini
May 30,2009
9:22 pm EDT
6:22 pm PDT
22:52 Taurus
September 6-7, 2009
12:45 am EDT (Sep 7)
9:45 pm PDT (Sep 6)
06:13 Libra
September 29, 2009
9:14 am EDT
6:14 am PDT
21:36 Virgo
December 26, 2009
9:38 am EST
6:38 am PST
21:47 Capricorn
January 15, 2010
11:52 am EST
8:52 am PST
05:33 Capricorn


2009 Mercury Retrograde Guide


JANUARY - 2009
S M T W T F S
1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
 
FEBRUARY - 2009
S M T W T F S
 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
 
MARCH - 2009
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        
 


APRIL - 2009
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30    
 
MAY - 2009
S M T W T F S
1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
 
JUNE - 2009
S M T W T F S
31 1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30      
 


JULY - 2009
S M T W T F S
  1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31
 
AUGUST - 2009
S M T W T F S
1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
 
SEPTEMBER - 2009
S M T W T F S
30 31 1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30      
 


OCTOBER - 2009
S M T W T F S
1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
 
NOVEMBER - 2009
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30
 
DECEMBER - 2009
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31  
 


View 2010 Mercury Retrograde