Home > Indian Astrology > Dasa


Sun Dasa | Moon Dasa | Mars Dasa | Rahu Dasa | Jupiter Dasa

Saturn Dasa | Mercury Dasa | Ketu Dasa| Venus Dasa

Dasa Periods of Planets

Dasas are unique in Indian System of Astrology in that they symbolize the overall direction of a person's life for very long periods of time.Vimsottari Dasa, remains the most popular Dasa system among Astrologers though different Dasa systems exist.The beginning of any planetary rulership in the case of an individual depends upon the Moons' position in a nakshatra, while the planetary rulership over different nakshatras begins with Sun as the ruler of Krittika and follows the same sequence throughout the nakshatra chain.

Vimsottari Dasa is based on the position of Moon at the time of birth in a specific nakshatra. The period of rulership of any planet at the time of birth depends upon the rulership of the planet on the nakshatra. The sequence of rulership of these planets follows a particular order. This order is as follows:

  • Sun - 6 years
  • Moon - 10 years
  • Mars - 7 years
  • Rahu - 18 years
  • Jupiter - 16 years
  • Saturn - 19 years
  • Mercury - 17 years
  • Ketu - 7 years
  • Venus - 20 years

Indian AstrologyAsk A Question ?

Indian AstrologyWill I get a good job?

Indian AstrologyWhen will I get a good job?

Indian AstrologyWhich profession would be ideal for me?